Construction commences on $4.2 million health facility at TAFE NSW St George Campus

Thursday, 25 October 2018

Future-focused training is one step closer, with the NSW Government today announcing the start of construction of a new specialist health facility at TAFE NSW St George.  

Assistant Minister for Skills Adam Marshall was joined by the Member for Oatley, Mark Coure, to turn the first sod of the $4.2 million dollar facility.

Minister Marshall said the works are delivering on the NSW Government’s plan to ensure TAFE NSW is well-equipped for the future so it can continue to deliver high quality, industry relevant and innovative training that leads to jobs in local communities.

“I am very excited to announce the start of work as the NSW Government continues to enable TAFE NSW to grow as a world-class, innovative and flexible public provider that is delivering the new technologies and skills to support the NSW economy,” Mr Marshall said.

“When completed, the state of the art specialist health facility will provide contemporary simulated learning environments and enable co-locating of campus training delivery in Nursing and Ageing & Disability.

The Member for Oatley said this multi-million dollar investment in education is a boon for the region.

“The new state-of-the-art facility will equip students with the job-ready skills local employers are calling for here in St George,” Mr Coure said.

“By 2030, we will need 82,000 additional nurses across the State. And there is particularly strong and growing demand in our region, especially after our significant redevelopment of St George Hospital.

“I am delighted the NSW Government is strongly focused on expanding training opportunities in our region, backed by this multi-million dollar investment.

“This is yet another demonstration of how the NSW Government is delivering for St George.”

The NSW Government’s 2018/19 Budget is investing $179.5 million in capital expenditure to support 25 major capital works projects at TAFE NSW; an increase of $48.5 million compared to 2017-18.