Premier congratulates recipients at 8th annual St George Community Awards

Wednesday, 31 October 2018

Last night, Mr Mark Coure MP hosted the eighth annual St George Community Awards to recognise the outstanding contribution individuals and organisations have made across the St George area.

The awards ceremony was held at Club Central in Hurstville, which was attended by 600 award recipients and supporters. A record number of nominations were received this year with 125 awards being presented to individuals, community groups and small businesses.

The Premier of NSW, Ms Gladys Berejiklian MP, presented two NSW Government Community Service Awards to Dr Emmanuel Karantanis, a gynaecologist at St George Hospital, and Mrs Christine Geelan, recently retired Principal at Peakhurst Public School.

Ms Berejiklian thanked Mr Coure for inviting her to this year’s St George Community Awards.

“These awards were started by Mark eight years ago to recognise those in the community who play their part in making our community great, but don’t get the recognition they deserve,” Ms Berejiklian said.

“Winners tonight come from a broad range of categories within the community, of different ages and different backgrounds.

“The only prerequisite for tonight’s winners are that you contribute to make our community a better place to live and work. Tonight is a night of recognition for the dedication of the winners, and their support.”

Mr Coure said that hosting this evening is his favourite event all year, as it unites some of the most loyal, hardworking individuals in the local area.

“The spirit of volunteerism that thrives in our local area is something I am extremely proud of and I am sincerely grateful and proud of the hundreds who dedicate their time and energy to assist others”, Mr Coure said.

Mr Paul McGrath, radio host at 2NBC, a community radio station based in Kogarah, was the Master of Ceremonies for the event.

The award categories are Individual Volunteer Achievement Award, Senior Volunteer Achievement Award, Youth Achievement Award, Community Group Achievement Award, Sporting Achievement Award, Business Achievement Award and Environmental Achievement Award.

Should you wish to recognise and appreciate an individual, community group or small business, please contact Mr Coure’s office on (02) 9580 9349 or email

Photos of the event can be viewed via